" Grand Lodge of South Dakota, A. F. & A. M.

2019-2020 Annual Report of the Scholarship Committee

South Dakota Masons provide college scholarships to young men and women from South Dakota who demonstrate academic and personal achievement and exemplify the values of Masonry. The South Dakota Masonic Charities strong and distinctive college scholarship program is available for public or private college, university or technical school in South Dakota. This year was a very unique one with the Corvid-19 pandemic disrupting the norm.
The last week of February the Grand Lodge of South Dakota A.F. & A.M. notified South Dakota students through a state-wide press release as well as through counselors offices of each school, that the Grand Lodge would be awarding ten $2,000 scholarships to graduating high school seniors who plan on attending a public or private college, university, or technical school. Preference will be given to those students attending an institution in South Dakota. Successful students will demonstrate a financial need, scholastic capability, and have a connection to a member of the Masonic fraternity. An April 15, 2020, deadline for applications was given.
The applications were received at the Grand Lodge Office. Due to the Coronavirus Pandemic, the committee allowed one additional week for the applicants to get all the paperwork in. Copies of all the Scholarship Applications were sent out to the Scholarship Committee members and they had until May 9, 2020 to report to the Chairman of the committee their results. With forty very deserving applicants, these were very difficult choices to make. We are excited to announce the following ten awardees and two alternates in alphabetical order: Kate DeVelder, Vermillion; Kara Ewing, Winner; Acadia Folkerts, Brookings; Gage Jager, Martin; Carter Jahnig, Hurley; Grace Kinder, Rapid City; Aireanna Santos, Avon; Lauren Sharkey, Pierre; Travis Sharp, Bath; and Olivia Vermeulen, Letcher. In the event one or more of the recipients would not use their scholarship the two alternates are: Jordy Stulken, Deadwood; and Kayden Verley, Canton.
Respectfully submitted,  
Jon Gonsor  
Chairman, Grand Lodge Scholarship Committee